From Hospitality to Software Engineering...

From Hospitality to Software Engineering...

This blog is written to tell how I got into the tech industry all of a sudden from nowhere. Why on Earth did I learn to code, huh!? It is a bit strange, isn't it? Oh wait, I forgot I must introduce myself 😁 see it is clear, I ain't PRO at writing Blogs πŸ˜‚. But I write code though. Alright then get ready to know about me and my coding journey.

Plan

  1. Introduction

  2. When I started

  3. Adventure of Coding

  4. Conclusion

code.png

"Hello World!"

Sorry πŸ˜‚ but this is what we all started from. Welcome to my blog. A little about me, I am Ismoiljon a full stack developer currently working at SmartPRO company and my tech stack is JavaScript, ReactJs, SQL/MySQL, MongoDB and Node.js. Before IT I was doing my bachelor's at Sol International School, Woosong University (South Korea) majoring in Hospitality Management.

Blogging. This is my first blog and why exactly am I writing? Hmmm... πŸ€” In my daily life I got a lot of questions about how I started and how I landed my very first paid job. I could relate to many of them like what they are feeling, the anxiety, the excitement and the curiosity of the unknown. I wanted to share my journey so that someone, somewhere, reading this relate to it and say, "It is okay, I am doing fine".

When I started

I hardly knew about web development in my college days! I had no plans, or purpose for the future. I was like well, we will see what is gonna happen. Back in 2020 when COVID-19 hit the world, everything became online and some businesses shut down because of it. At that time I was in the middle of nowhere like "I was studying in Hospitality major which is related to hotels, tourism, etc", I was stuck at home doing nothing, and then I came across with my childhood dream. When I was a child I always wanted to be a tech guy who always with his laptopπŸ‘¨πŸ»β€πŸ’» or wears glassesπŸ€“ and solve problems or hacks somewhere. Then I said, "This is the moment!, I should start learning programming". This is how I started, did self-study and after a year bought an online bootcamp.

Adventure of Coding

After I took online boot camp I went from 0 to 1, it boosted my knowledge and made me more interest in programming. I did not go out a lot only focused on learning new stuff every day. I started planning my days it was like after waking up doing an hour coding and repeating it until night πŸ˜‚. I am kidding obviously, I did at least 3-4 hours every single day for 6 months. Started my portfolio website and included what I have built so far in that website to showcase. I want to be honest there was no one to help for find jobs around me. Sometimes I felt bored but I had one purpose to accomplish and always reminded myself I shouldn't give up my goal. Yeah, somedays I didn't even open my laptop, but I kept doing it because I believed in myself and the process. Honestly, I applied for more than 400 jobs out there. I repeated more than 400 jobs, it was not easy, getting rejected emails every day and coding again like nothing happened. I didn't know what I was doing wrong and what I needed to correct. Wasn't my knowledge enough? Was it because I didn't have any experience? Was my resume had lack of information? There were so many questions that I didn't know the answers. During that time I was asking for help, and suggestions from whoever I knew and I did right. One of my friends asked me whether I had filled out my resume on the website itself rather than just uploading my ready resume. Then I realized that I had never paid attention to my profile on job searching websites. I started to build my profile resume on each website on which I was applying for a job. After that, I started getting interview invitations. Boom! I moved to the second step. This was a big achievement and I got my first ever paid job. Even now, I get some interview invitations from time to time, even if I didn't update my profile.

Conclusion

First of all, thanks for your time and reading it. I do appreciate it. We have talked about how I started coding and landed my first job so far. I hope you guys liked it and got something from it. I will try to share some good stuff here, check it out very often.

Tips for today.

  1. Do not forget you have come so far and there is only one step ahead.

  2. You should be proud of yourself

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Ismoiljon Abduraimov by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!

Β